University of Southern California
Division of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy


Since occupational therapy was introduced at USC as a baccalaureate program in 1942, the University of Southern California has established an unparalleled record of excellence in service to the profession of occupational therapy and the research discipline of occupational science. Today, the USC Division of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy is an internationally recognized leader in education, research, and clinical practice, thanks in part to a legacy of innovation and leadership including the following:

  • USC inaugurated the nation’s first post-professional degree program in occupational therapy in 1947
  • USC established the nation’s first two-year, entry-level master’s degree in occupational therapy in 1962
  • USC created the world’s first doctoral program in occupational science in 1989
  • The landmark “USC Well Elderly Study” was the first occupational therapy research to be published in the Journal of the American Medical Association, in 1997
  • U.S. News & World Report ranked USC #1 in the first national ranking of occupational therapy graduate educational programs in 1998, and today USC remains ranked #1 by U.S. News & World Report, holding the top spot for more years than all other educational programs combined
  • 4 Trojans have been elected President of the American Occupational Therapy Association
    • Wilma West MA ’46 (1961-64)
    • Florence Cromwell MA ’52 (1967-73)
    • Mary Foto BS ’66 (1995-98)
    • Florence Clark (Faculty) (2010-13)
  • 15 Trojans have received the AOTA Eleanor Clarke Slagle Award, the profession’s most prestigious academic recognition
    • Margaret S. Rood (Faculty) (1958)
    • Mary Reilly BS ’51 (1961)
    • A. Jean Ayres BS ’45 MA ’54 (1963)
    • Elizabeth June Yerxa BS ’52 MA ’53 (1966)
    • Wilma L. West MA ’46 (1967)
    • Lela A. Llorens (Faculty) (1969)
    • A. Joy Huss Cert. ’58 (1976)
    • L. Irene Hollis Cert. ’44 (1979)
    • Joan C. Rogers MA ’68 (1983)
    • Claudia Kay Allen (Faculty) (1987)
    • Anne Henderson BS ’46 (1988)
    • Florence A. Clark (Faculty) (1993)
    • Catherine Anne Trombly MA ’64 (1995)
    • Ruth Zemke (Faculty) (2004)
    • Janice Burke MA ’75 (2009)
  • 60 Trojans have been selected as Fellows of the American Occupational Therapy Association
  • 3 Trojans have been elected President of the Occupational Therapy Association of California
    • Melissa Szamet BS ’68 (2002-04)
    • Shawn Phipps BS ’97 (2008-12)
    • Patricia Nagaishi MA ’80 (2012-14)
  • A. Jean Ayres’ influential theory and practice of Sensory Integration took root at USC
  • The Lifestyle Redesign® research-based occupational therapy intervention approach for promoting wellness and minimizing preventable illness was developed at USC


View a timeline of highlights (PDF) spanning over seven decades of USC occupational science and occupational therapy.

U.S. News Ranks USC #1 Program in the Nation

USC Division of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy
1540 Alcazar Street, CHP 133
Los Angeles, CA 90089-9003
Google Maps  Google Maps

Phone: (323) 442-2850 · Toll free: (866) 385-4250
Fax: (323) 442-1540
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
Request program information  Request program information

The USC entry-level master's degree program is fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education® (ACOTE). ACOTE c/o Accreditation Department, American Occupational Therapy Association, Inc.®, 4720 Montgomery Lane, Suite 200, Bethesda, MD 20814-3449, (301) 652-6611 x2914,

Professional program graduates are eligible to apply for certification by the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy, Inc.®



RSS feed Subscribe

USC OS/OT Student Blog
USC OS/OT Vacancies
External OS/OT Jobs


Make text bigger
Make text smaller

Site map